I-wish-I-was-on-a-beach Whoopie Pies

So usually every year in January or February I go somewhere hot to escape the winter for just a short while. It doesn’t take long, only a week of warmth (although longer would be AMAZING), but that is enough to get me through the blahs of the rain in Vancouver. This year it didn’t work out. Between timing & budgets, it just didn’t happen. And now I am feeling it. I just want to feel the warmth of the sun on my back or just sit outside & read a book or even just have a week off to relax (it is WAY too long between Christmas and Easter to not have a break! I look forward to having the new stat holiday in February next year!). We will not miss out next year!

These Whoopie Pies were intended to bring a little sunshine and tropical flavour to the dullness of winter. One friend from Australia commented “these remind me of something at home” so I think I captured the idea of sunshine into the treat! I wasn’t really aiming for any particular drink, just something that you would enjoy in the sun on the beach. I had this tropical dip mix that I got as a ‘mystery purchase’ in a set with a few others and figured it would be great in a filling. Since it would be impossible anyone else to purchase this (apparently it was a fundraiser item), I would recommend throwing in some freeze dried pineapple and toasted coconut (blend it up first so that it becomes a powder). And for the outside I used the coconut Whoopie Pies I had previously made as a template and just enhanced it with some extra tropical fun (i.e. citrus and rum!)

Tropical Whoopie Pies

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp coconut extract
  • 1 tsp rum extract
  • 1 large  egg
  • 2 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • (optional: 1/3 cup freeze-dried strawberries blended to ‘dust’)
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (fine is best but medium shred should be fine)
  • zest from one orange
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter about 1 minute. Add the sugar and beat another 2-3 minutes until fluffy and light. Add the egg followed by the extracts.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt & strawberry ‘dust’ (if using).
  4. In a measuring cup, measure the two milks together and stir.
  5. With the mixer on low add about 1/3 of the flour mix, then 1/2 of the milk mix, another 1/3 of the flour mix, the rest of the milk, and finally the rest of the flour.
  6. Mix in the shredded coconut & orange zest.
  7. Spoon or scoop batter (about 1.5 tablespoon per cookie) onto the prepared cookie sheets.
  8. Bake 10-12 minutes or until they spring back when lightly touched. Allow to cool a few minutes on the sheet and then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Tropical Filling

  • 1/2 pkg cream cheese (1/2 cup), softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 Tb rum
  • 3 Tb Tropical fruit dip mix
  • 4 cups icing/confectioner’s sugar
  • (2 Tb coconut milk)
  1. Beat the cream cheese and butter together. Add in the dip mix and the rum.
  2. Add sugar 1/2 cup at a time with mixer on low. Add enough coconut milk if required to make it a medium consistency.
Assemble by filling two equally sized & shaped Whoopie Pies with 1.5-2Tb filling (generally use as much filling as you used for the batter of each side of the Whoopie). Squish together and refrigerate to allow the filling to firm up a little.
2 responses to “I-wish-I-was-on-a-beach Whoopie Pies

  • Anita

    Well you KNOW I need to try those…seeing as that is the lovely Epicure Dip Mix I see you used!

    • bexbakesandcakes

      Why yes it is the lovely Epicure Dip Mix! They work fabulously in the fillings! I used the Tiramisu one here too! Delish! (Too bad all of these were eaten already but I will definitely bring you some next time I use an Epicure product! Oh, I use the Poudre Douce in a lot of recipe too… I can’t remember which one but I know I posted it here somewhere!)

Leave a Reply

