Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Whoopie Pies

Heart-shaped pans + Strawberries for filling = Valentine's Whoopie Pies

I feel like as a blogger I have a responsibility to make seasonal Whoopie Pies. So since it was Valentine’s Day, I of course should post something even if I am single… Unfortunately, I am not great at posting on time. Sorry about that.

My mom gave me some fun pans that she found at a thrift store for some heart shaped Whoopie Pies so I figured I absolutely had to try them out for V-day. I also had a bag of freeze-dried Strawberries that I thought would be great to use in the filling to mimic a chocolate covered strawberry – something that is often enjoyed on Love-fest day. So with these as inspiration you get a gag-me-I’m-single Valentine’s Whoopie Pie! (Really the day doesn’t bother me at all… check out what I think of it here).

Chocolate Whoopie Pies (from Whoopies!)

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a mixer, beat butter and sugar until fluffy & light – 3-4 minutes. Add the egg, beat well and then add the vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.
  4. Starting and ending with the dry ingredients, add the dry mix alternating with the buttermilk to the butter/sugar/egg. Beat after each addition.
  5. Spoon, scoop or pipe the batter onto the baking sheets. Usually I use my 1.5 Tablespoon cookie scoop that makes medium sized whoopies. This time I actually scooped double into the well-greased heart shaped pans.
  6. Bake 10-11 minutes or until they bounce completely back when lightly touched.
  7. Allow to cool a couple minutes on the sheet before removing to a rack to completely cool

    Heart Shaped Whoopies: I split them in half for filling since the were "puffed" on both sides!

Strawberry Filling

  • 1 cup freeze dried strawberries, pulverized with a food processor
  • 3/4 cup butter, room temp
  • 3 cups icing/confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3-5 tsp cream/milk/water
  1. Beat the butter 3-4 minutes until light and fluffy. Add the strawberries followed by the sugar half a cup at a time & continue to beat on low. Add the vanilla and cream/milk. Beat on high for 2 minutes after.

    Valentine's Whoopie Pies

Assemble by filling two equally sized Whoopie Pies with 1.5 Tb filling (as much as you used for the batter of the Whoopie). Squish together and refrigerate to allow the filling to firm up a little. (I always keep mine in the fridge until about 1/2-1 hour before serving.) For the heart shaped ones, I actually cut them in half and put the filling in the middle.

written by Becky

2 responses to “Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Whoopie Pies

Leave a Reply

