A “How-to” for Whoopie Pies

I have been meaning to write this type of post for a while. It seems there are always questions about how to make Whoopie Pies and so I figured I would just write one post to summarize it all.

Here are my main points to keep in mind (I will try to keep them in an order that makes sense with how you make a whoopie pie):

  • You can be as creative as you would like with flavours. Need some inspiration? Check out my post on “What is your flavour?” Let me know if there is a flavour you would like to see on here!
  • When you are mixing, make sure you beat your butter and sugar well. It should get light and fluffy. The texture does change after you start beating it so watch it and you will see what I mean. It will take 3-4 minutes.

    Butter & Sugar: Fluffy & Light!

  • It may not really be absolutely necessary to whisk together your dry ingredients separately but I like to do it to make sure that the baking soda, salt, cocoa etc are evenly mixed and broken up.
  • Parchment paper is the best! But you don’t have to use it! It sure makes for easy clean up and the whoopies NEVER stick!
  • There is no right or wrong size, it is up to you. I like to make mine using my 1.5 Tb cookie scoop but if you like yours to be the size of a hamburger, go ahead and make them with a 1/4 cup of batter! The 1.5 Tb scoop makes them about 2.5 inches in diameter, which seems to be a good size for most people. Check out the sizes in this post. Just remember, for the ones that are quite rich (like the Fudgey Chocolate with Peanut Butter filling ones) it is better to keep them small!
  • As far as how to portion outthe batter, you don’t need to have a cookie scoop like I always suggest. A spoon works perfectly well – scoop with one spoon and push it off with a second spoon. The shapes won’t be as perfect as with a scoop but that is ok! They will taste the same!

    Scooping the Whoopies!

  • You can also pipe the batter instead. Check out these ones! Although there is no picture of the pre-baked whoopies, you can tell by the flower shape that they were piped. This is a great way to control the size of your whoopies but remember that any with softer batter won’t hold their shape (some do though – check out the bottom picture on this post!).
  • Whoopies are really easy to tell when they are baked: to test for ‘doneness’ gently touch the top. It should give a little and then spring back and not leave an indent. If an indent is still there, they aren’t quite done. Leave them for a minute or two more. If they don’t give at all, they are likely over done and I can’t really help you! Just don’t leave the next batch in as long!
  • Allow the whoopies to cool a couple minutes on the baking sheet before transferring them to a cooling rack. This lets them set up a little better so that they won’t break as you go to take them off. Make sure that you allow them to  cool completely before you try to fill them.
  • Match up whoopie pies that are approximately the same size and shape to be partners! Your filling will stay put better and they will be more satisfying to eat!
  • The ratio of cookie to fillingshould be about 2:1 – that means that the amount of filling should be equal to one of the cookies. So I like to use my 1.5 Tb scoop for both the batter and the filling. I also like to line up the whoopie pies, with their partners, and add the filling to all of them at once in rows. This is especially useful if you are using two fillings!

    Assembly Line! Caramel on one side, coffee icing on the other!

  • I find piping the filling more rewarding than piping the batter since you know that the shape will remain no matter what! In saying that, I still end up scooping it most of the time. Of course you can just spoon it as well.
  • Make sure you squish the two sides together only slightly – you want them to stick to the filling but you don’t want it oozing everywhere!
  • I always refrigerate my Whoopie Pies after making them. This allows the filling to set and ensures that they will stay together as well as keeping them fresh.
  • At least half an hour (up to an hour or maybe two max?) before serving them I like to take them out of the fridge. This lets the filling soften and the flavours come out more (it seems that the chilled ones have more subtle flavour).
  • Cake batter and whoopie pie batter do differ quite a bit. Cake/cupcake batter is generally much thinner than whoopie pie batter and will spread too much if you try to use it for whoopie pies. I have seen places that suggest that you could use a cake mix and just add 1 1/4 cups of flour to the mix to make whoopie pies so you could likely do that with most cake recipes as well. This can get tricky depending on the recipe though so I suggest instead to start with a Whoopie Pie recipe and alter it to fit the flavour profile you are looking for. Let me know if you have a specific recipe in mind and I’ll see if I can help you out!
  • Need some help with eating? Well check out this post!
2 responses to “A “How-to” for Whoopie Pies

  • chelsisme

    So if I made these the night before and they are refrigerated for 24 hours, they’ll still taste ok? As long as I take them out a hour or two to thaw? Do you cover them in the fridge?

    • bexbakesandcakes

      Yes they will definitely be fine for 24hours in the fridge. I store them in an airtight container. They are fine to eat straight out of the fridge but the filling will just be firmer – I prefer it softer. I hope that helps! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

