S’mores Whoopie Pies

written by Becky

S'mores Whoopie Pies!

It seems that summer should never pass by without enjoying at least one S’more. Somehow it is just part of summer. Between the gooey marshmallow, the melted chocolate and the crispy honey-like graham crackers, the sweet makes for perfect camping treats!

Only one problem though, I am really not much of a camper. I like the idea of being outdoors and enjoying the simpler life but in reality I like to be able to have a shower daily (a clean lake to swim in will do though), I like to not be covered in mosquito bites, I don’t like hot dogs, and although I really hate outhouses, I require at least that (no peeing in the bush for me)!! Additionally, I don’t have all the gear and so the idea of trying to get organized enough to actually go on a camping trip seems exhausting. I used to enjoy going along with my friend’s family when I was in high school but they would always go somewhere with flushing outhouses, a beautiful lake, and they would do all the prep work in their camper van! When I was even younger than that, we had a tent trailer and that was fun. Again, flushing toilets, lakes to swim in and someone else organizing… so as you might guess, I don’t always get my campfire S’mores.

Enter the S’mores Whoopie Pies. I made this on August 10th – this is important because S’mores day is always on August 10th! I needed to make some Whoopie Pies for a friend I was seeing that had NEVER had a Whoopie Pie and I had recently read about S’mores Day on someone else’s blog  so I figured I may as well take advantage of it and make some S’mores Whoopie Pies!

Ready for delivery.

The Whoopies are made with graham flour (this is difficult to find but Bob’s Red Mill sells it and I had previously bought to make S’mores cupcakes). It is a tasty flour that has a coarse texture because the bran and the germ of the wheat is ground separately and more coarse than the endosperm of the wheat. For more info see Wikipedia! That is where I just learned about graham flour! Ok, so next we have some chocolate ganache… mmm. And finally I made some toasted marshmallow filling! And voila, a S’mores Whoopie Pie! Oh, and if I can just brag a little – mine looked better than the ones in the book 🙂

Prep work

Graham Cracker Whoopie (from Whoopie Pies by Sarah Billingsley & Amy Treadwell)

  • 1 1/2 cup graham flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 Tb milk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk together flours, baking powder and salt.
  3. With a mixer (hand or stand), beat together butter & brown sugar until light & creamy – about 3 minute.s Add the eggs, one at a time. Add the buttermilk and vanilla.
  4. In a small bowl, mix the milk, baking soda & white vinegar (it should foam!).
  5. Add half of the flour mix to the batter, then the milk-foam, then the rest of the flour. Beat on medium about 2 minutes until totally combined.
  6. Drop, pipe or scoop the batter onto the sheet spacing the Whoopies a couple inches apart. I used my 1.5 oz scoop and they were a lovely size and make perfectly circular Whoopies!
  7. Bake 8-10 minutes or until the Whoopies bounce back when lightly pressed. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 3-4 minutes before moving to a rack to cool completely.
Chocolate Ganache
  • 1/2 cup whipping (heavy) cream
  • 4 oz semi-sweet chocolate, in small’ish pieces
  1. Heat cream in a small saucepan until it starts to bubble around the edges. Don’t boil it!
  2. Pour hot cream over chocolate in a bowl. Leave for a couple minutes and then stir. Continue stirring until it becomes smooth and delicious!

Toasty Marshmallows

Roasted Marshmallow Filling

  • 2 cups mini marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp
  • 1 tsp vanilla (preferably clear)
  • 2 1/2 cups icing/confectioner’s sugar
  1. Lightly grease a baking sheet with butter. Spread marshmallows in a single layer and place under broiler. WATCH CLOSELY! Remove from oven as soon as it starts to brown! Remember what happens when you overcook marshmallows? They burn and are nasty!
  2. Allow to cool slightly.
  3. In the bowl of a mixer, beat butter. Add marshmallows and continue to beat until smooth. Add vanilla. Beat in sugar. Depending on how soft your butter is, this may be too soft still. You can either add more sugar or put the mix into the fridge. I don’t like it being too sweet so I let it cool some.

A double sided Whoopie Pie lineup! Marshmallow on one side, chocolate ganache on the other.

Assembly

  1. Pair up Whoopies so that the tops and bottoms are roughly the same size.
  2. Spoon chocolate ganache on one side of the Whoopies.
  3. Scoop/spoon marshmallow filling on the other side.
  4. Sandwich together the two Whoopies! Squish slightly to evenly distribute the fillings!
  5. Mmm… enjoy!

S'mores Whoopie Pies... I'd like s'more please!

The satisfied customer 🙂

Leave a Reply

