Vanilla Blueberry Cream Whoopie Pies

written by Becky

In the world of food blogs there are many “clubs” out there to join. There are ones like the Martha Stewart Cupcakes Club that bakes a new recipe from the Cupcakes book monthly and everyone posts on it (the idea is to bake every recipe in the book), or there is The Daring Baker that sends out a recipe to all members and they all bake the same recipe and post their version on the same day, or others like this. I keep wanting to sign up for one of these but as a single girl in her 30’s, I don’t want to be forced to make an entire batch of cupcakes that I have no where to take and therefore the only person that will be consuming them is me! So instead I signed up for a much simpler one that was started by Rebecca at “I Wanna Be a Domestic Goddess”. The idea is to bake something with the seasonal ingredient that her and her friend decide on. Since I originally started following this blog because of the weekly Whoopie Pies that were being baked (which sadly no longer happens), I figured I would start with a Whoopie Pie recipe!

First of all, a note. I find it odd that July’s ingredient was blueberries. Blueberries in BC just barely become available in July so I was pretty much forced to wait until late in the month in order to bake with local berries. And oddly, next months ingredient is cherries – they will be done in the next week or two here I think! Oh well.  Anyways, I love fresh, BC blueberries. This is odd because as a child, I hated them! I think I found there was too much skin compared to fruit and I just didn’t like them at all. I obviously outgrew that though and grew to love them.

Butter & Brown Sugar

Although I love the other vanilla recipe I posted previously, this recipe is a new Whoopie Pie recipe. It is adapted from Whoopies! and I was trying to make it richer and more caramel’y. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and added caramel flavour to it. Although the flavouring smelled amazing while baking, I don’t think it really impacted the flavour. They are still lovely little pies though! Airy and fluffy while still being sturdy and tasty (I really quite liked the texture of these and I can’t decide which recipe I actually like better now.) And the filling was so simple but it was delicious. It wasn’t overly sweet and yet it was packed full of flavour.

Brown Sugar Whoopie Pies (found here)

  • The delicious smelling batter

    1/2 cup butter, softened

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp caramel flavour (optional)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer (or use a regular bowl and hand mixer), beat the butter for about 30 seconds. Add in the brown sugar and beat together until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, vanilla and caramel flavour.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.
  4. Add the flour in 3 additions alternating with the buttermilk.
  5. Use a scoop, spoon or pipe the batter into mounds about 1-1.5 tablespoons each. (leave about 2 inches between each)
  6. Bake 8-10 minutes until the pies bounce back when touched (no indent should be left).
  7. Allow to cool on pan about 2 minutes before transferring to a rack to dry completely.

Just three ingredients in the filling!

Blueberry Cream Cheese Marshmallow Filling

  • 8oz cream cheese, room temp
  • 7.5 oz container of Marshmallow Fluff
  • 2 cups fresh, washed blueberries (preferably local!)
  1. Beat the cream cheese. Add in the fluff and beat until smooth.
  2. Stir in the blueberries gently.
Assemble Whoopie Pies: Pair similarly sized & shaped whoopie pies. Add a good sized scoop of the icing to one side of the pie and place to the top on! Don’t squish the berries! I have decided that the perfect ratio is two-to-one. So I use the same cookie scoop for doing the filling as I do for the cookies: 2 cookies, 1 scoop of icing. Perfection! Yum!

I had to cut them open to show the full blueberries inside!

2 responses to “Vanilla Blueberry Cream Whoopie Pies

  • rebecca

    These look amazing! And as I was reading it, I realized that I never made a blueberry whoopie pie during Whoopie Pie Wednesday! How did I miss that one!?!

    Thanks for joining in Bake It Seasonal. I cannot wait to see your August creation!

    • letsmakewhoopie

      They were a big hit !
      Oddly, I hadn’t thought about putting in whole fresh blueberries until I found the recipe for the filling. I had assumed I was going to make a sauce and mix that in with the buttercream. They were so fresh tasting this way though!

Leave a Reply

