My Favourite Whoopies So Far

written by Becky

Fudgey Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter Filling

Ok, it was back at making Whoopie Pies this week. I had actually made these Whoopie Pies a few weeks ago for something but I had none left to share with several important testers and was afraid if I posted on this recipe that I would be shunned for not bringing in any to share. Especially after I would have raved on about them because they are AMAZING!!

So I am not sure if this is what makes the difference but these cookies have 3 different kinds of chocolate. First some unsweetened & semi-sweet chocolate are melted together with butter, then some cocoa is sifted with the flour. Between this and the 3 eggs (most Whoopie Pie recipes seems to have only 1 or max 2), these Whoopie Pies are super fudgey and thick! Like a brownie really! Although I know they aren’t at all authentic, they sure are tasty (then again I love this flavour combination)!

The first party I took them to was a dinner party at my friends’ place. I also took a Blueberry Lemon Tiramisu (with home made lady fingers). Both desserts were a hit but when I went to leave a little bit early, the four people that were left asked if I could leave the ONLY four Whoopie Pies that were left for them. I had saved two at home for two friends at work but after coming home with none, I ate the other two the next day! Oops. (They were little Whoopies by the way!) I tried a few new things with these guys.

  • First: Marshmallows. Only because I was asked to incorporate marshmallows into my dessert from a friend currently addicted to the little sugar bombs did they get this decor. I wasn’t sure how they would be so I didn’t do it to all.
  • Second: Piping the cookies. These ones were just done with a piping bag with no tip. It worked well to pipe them and the finished products are perfect little circles! Even more perfect than using a cookie scoop!

I also piped the delicious (although quite stiff) filling (this is pretty usual) to make lovely little designs, which just got smushed between the cookies!

The third new trial thing (may as well just try everything in one batch!) was to dip some of the Whoopie Pies in chocolate. I didn’t fully enrobe any in chocolate but instead just dipped some in about 1/3 of the way or I drizzled the top with chocolate (I just used dark melting wafers).

Some were also left unadorned. They were a huge hit and I knew this was one of my favourite Whoopie Pies! The cookies are super fudgey and rich and chewy while the filling has a good amount of peanut butter kick! And I loved the ones dipped in a bit of chocolate!

So this was the first batch I made. I made a second batch in honour of the Royal Wedding. Honestly, none of us at work really cared about the wedding but we did think it was a great excuse for a fun tea party complete with fascinators and mini foods! I figured this was my excuse to make this delicious concoction again – as well as use the other half of the peanut butter frosting that I had stored in the freezer.

I didn’t add anything extra but I did pipe the cookies with one of my new (1M I think) piping tips! Don’t they look lovely?


Fudgey Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter Buttercream (adapted from the Food Network Kitchens)

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup  cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Use parchment paper to line a couple baking sheets.
  2. Melt the unsweetened and semisweet chocolates with the butter in a medium microwave-safe bowl. Heat at 75% power until the butter is mostly melted and the chocolate is starting to soften around the edges (about 2 minutes). Stir and continue heating at 60% stirring every 30 seconds until the chocolate is smooth & melted. Cool at room temp about 5 minutes.
  3. Whisk in the sugar, eggs and vanilla into the chocolate mixture.
  4. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. In three batches, add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients & mix until moistened. Don’t overmix.
  5. Use a small cookie scoop, a piping bag or spoon to portion batter onto the prepared pan. These are pretty rich so you may not want to make giant ones! Space the cookies about 1-inch apart. They don’t spread much. Bake 6 minutes. They should look moist still but not wet and should  spring back when lightly touched.

Peanut Butter Buttercream Filling:

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter (not natural)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cup icing or confectioner’s sugar
  • 3 Tb (or more) whipping cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Beat together peanut butter & butter. Add 1/2 cup at a time of the icing sugar until stiff. Add whipping cream & vanilla. You may need to add more whipping cream (milk would also work fine but I had whipping cream from something else) to get the desired consistency.
Use a small cookie scoop, a piping bag, a small spatula, or a spoon to add a dallop of the filling to the inside of half of your Whoopie Pies. Smush together with the other side for an amazingly delicious Whoopie Pie!
2 responses to “My Favourite Whoopies So Far

Leave a Reply

