Vegan Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter & Toasted Coconut Filling

Finally, back to posting! Sorry for the lack of posts… it seems that I have been making everything except Whoopie Pies lately. I made some recently that had great whoopies, but the filling was super messy. I couldn’t possibly post that! I need to remake those as the taste was great and I love the flavours (Lemon coconut! Yum!)

Anyways, enough daydreaming about those ones and onto the treats I made for this post – which had my absolute favourite flavour combination – Peanut Butter & Chocolate! And a little toasted coconut in there for some extra yum! Apparently I am obsessed with coconut lately. I want it in everything. Especially with chocolate.

So why vegan? Well although I have a lot of friends that are either vegetarian or eat limited meat (like me, many don’t eat red meat or pork), I only have one friend that is vegan. Sure, sometimes she will eat very limited dairy if she doesn’t have much of a choice, but generally she is very conscientious and stays away from any animal product. Well I have been promising her vegan Whoopie Pies for about a year now… and now she is going on a traveling adventure for almost a year and I felt I definitely owed it to her before she left to finally make some! I will have to come up with a great recipe to welcome her home next year too :)

I was actually super surprised how well these came out. They puffed up nice and were a good consistency and tasted like any other delicious Whoopie Pie. I don’t like the taste of ‘vegan butter’ so I went with coconut oil instead for the Whoopies and used Tofutti (vegan cream cheese) in the filling with peanut butter to “mask” the tofu flavour if I didn’t like it! I am not sure if it was necessary though as I didn’t taste any of the “weird tofu” flavour that I was afraid would mess up a good dessert!

For those looking to bake vegan or dairy-free, this recipe uses a buttermilk substitute: in the same way that you can add vinegar to regular milk to get a dairy buttermilk substitute, you can do this with rice milk, almond milk and soy milk. It works exactly the same – add one tablespoon to one cup and let it sit for about 10 minutes to “sour” it. Also, another great substitution to know is using ground flax seed with water to make up an egg – 1 Tb of ground flax + 3 Tb of water.

Whether you are vegan or just making some of these for a friend that is, I am sure everyone will love them and not even know that they are for any special diet! You really can’t tell any difference!

Vegan Chocolate Whoopie Pies (makes about 15 medium sized pies)

  • 1 cup rice or almond or soy milk
  • 1 Tb white vinegar
  • 1 Tb flax seed mixed with 3 Tb warm water
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cups cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Measure the milk in a liquid measuring cup and add the vinegar to it. Allow to sit about while you do everything else – it may start to look kind of chunky or curdled but that is good!
  3. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

    Coconut oil + sugar + “flax-egg”

  4. In the bowl of a mixer, mix the coconut oil and brown sugar until well mixed. It will not become fluffy like butter and sugar (or at least mine didn’t) so add the flax seed+ water and continue mixing. Add the vanilla and beat about 2 minutes.
  5. Add the flour mixture alternatively with the non-dairy milk mix (start and end with the flour).
  6. Spoon or scoop 1.5 Tb of mixture onto prepared baking sheets at least 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the tops will bounce back when touched (i.e. a finger ‘indent’ shouldn’t remain!)
  7. Allow cakes to cool a few minutes on the baking sheet before removing to a cooling rack.

    Ready to bake

Vegan Peanut Butter & Toasted Coconut Filling

  • 1/2 pkg of Tofutti (total package is 8oz)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/2 cup toasted coconut (it burns quick in the oven so be careful!)
  1. Beat the Tofutti with the peanut butter until very smooth. Add the vanilla and then the icing sugar 1/2 cup at a time. 
  2. Stir in the toasted coconut
Assemble by filling two equally sized & shaped Whoopie Pies with 1.5-2Tb filling (generally use as much filling as you used for the batter of each side of the Whoopie plus a little). Press together and refrigerate until about an hour before serving.

Mmm…

Vegan Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter & Toasted Coconut Filling

5 responses to “Vegan Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter & Toasted Coconut Filling

  • Ali Has

    gotta make these! The filling sounds delish!

  • Inside-Out Peanut Butter Cup Whoopie Pies « Let's Make Whoopie…Pies

    [...] love the chocolate outside with the peanut butter filling (or the vegan version) so figured it was time to reverse the combination! They are like a peanut butter cup inside out: [...]

  • Making Whoopie | Wabi-Sabi Sisters

    [...] and after staring that those whoopie pies this whole time (I know cruel right?) I decided to post a Vegan Chocolate Whoopie Pie Recipe .  I actually have all of the ingredients for this recipe and will NEED to make them very soon just [...]

  • Catia310@gmail.com

    Hi! :)love your blog! Stumbled upon it while researching whoopie pies. I’m originally from America ( usa) and am currently living in the UK. Whoopie pies seem to have hit the scene here a few years ago but not where I live. I grew up with them and lve them! All my family and friends think I’m an amazing baker and pressure me daily to do this for a living. My husband likes to tease he’s losing money daily,lol. I’m scared I guess to take that leap,I don’t like critics and I was cringing the whole time while reading about your contest entry.long story short,thanks for the inspiration and happy baking.
    Catia

    • bexbakesandcakes

      Thanks for your kind words Catia!

      Oddly, Whoopie Pies haven’t really hit the scene here much still – I am still trying to get more Whoopie Pies into Canada! I am auditioning again for the same contest and hopefully I will be more successful this time! We shall just have to see… I am working on flavour combos right now actually and forcing friends and coworkers to trial 4 types a week! haha. There will be a post about it soon! My friends also try to encourage me to start a bakery but I am not ready either… too scary! maybe someday! Anyways, best of luck with your baking endeavors!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

